Sunday, 21 July 2019 05:02 GMT

Kuwait - Skynet Miracles FC crowned KIFF League champions

(MENAFN - Arab Times) Champions of Kuwait – Skynet Miracles FC

All Kerala Football Club settle for runners-up

KUWAIT CITY, April 28: Football is one sport among expatriate Indians in Kuwait that brings people of different cultures and societies together.

In an exciting finale to the Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF) League, Skynet Miracles FC were crowned champions of Kuwait for the prestigious J. P. D'Mello Memorial Trophy – season 2018-19.

Skynet Miracles beat defending champions All Kerala Football Club (AKFC) 2-1 in a pulsating final played at Bayan Grounds on April 12, 2019.

The league was sponsored by M/s Gulf Cable & Electrical Industries Co.

Pradeep Varghese scored first for Skynet while super sub Duresh Naik scored the winning goal late in the dying minutes of the game. Striker Shanavas scored for AKFC midway into the second half.

AKFC played an attacking, fast-paced game all throughout with Shanavas Puthiyedath, Jamsheel and Inzamam excelling in front, however Skynet defence was well-organized and stood strong with goalkeeper Martin Dias in great form.

Skynet's Pradeep dazzled with an exceptional all-round display. His ball distribution was amazing and he took the lead for Skynet; he was rightly adjudged man of the match.

For AKFC, young Jineesh Kuttapuwas outstanding with amazing touches, ball control and footballing technique.

The Champions: Skynet

Martin Dias, Marcos Costa, Jackson Cyrus, Rollan Fernandes, John Mellow, Sonu Xavier, Pradeep Varghese, Joel Camara, Albin Joseph, Reagan Fernandes, Sabu Cyrus, Aneesh Anto, Neves Carvalho, Xavier Pereira, Duresh Naik, Morris Simoes, Mack Faria, Jafar Ampayathingal.

Team Manager: Melvin Fernandes

President: Cajie Fernandes

Runners-up: AKFC

Amees Ahammed (Goalkeeper), Shafeeq, Mohammed Siyad, Noushad, Anthony, John, Shanavas Puthiyedath, Krishna Chandran, Inzamam Nazer, Rafeek, Jineesh Kuttapu, Sanil, Riyas, Jamal, Subithlal, Samil, Mansoor, Manirsha, etc.

Team Manager: Mansoor

As per the tradition of the federation, KIFF President Derick Gomindes was chief guest on the occasion while Nasser Al Kanaan (Executive Director of Gulf Cable & Electrical Industries Co was the guest of honor.

Abdul Rahman Al Muraiki, Business Development Manager – Gulf Cable was a special invitee along with KIFF ex-presidents and presidents of affiliated clubs.

A number of other dignitaries were also present on the occasion.

In the Presidential address, Derick Gomindes thanked the sponsors especially Gulf Cable, KIFF Managing Committee members, guests, affiliates and everyone associated with KIFF for the support rendered towards Indian football in Kuwait.

The President also acknowledged his thanks to the Technical Committee of KIFF, Auditors, KIFF Referees, other tournament sponsors, Public Authority of Sports, KEFAK and its Managing Committee.

The final was officiated by Jerry D'Mello assisted by Rosario Colaco and Bhava on the lines; Bernard Fernandes was the fourth official.

The referees for the season were appointed from different clubs affiliated to the federation. Referees body was run by chief coordinator Bernard Fernandes and assisted by Robert Bernard.

Special Mementos

Long-serving footballer and popular personality Julio Cardoso, who has been playing and supporting Indian football in Kuwait, was honored by Santos United.

Speaking on the occasion, Cardoso acknowledged his thanks for honoring his contribution and achievements. The stalwart would be leaving Kuwait for good, shortly.

Another memento was given to United Goans player Prince Puthusery who is also leaving Kuwait for good.

Sponsors Gulf Cable were also presented with a memento.

Glittering individual prizes and trophies were presented at the prize distribution ceremony.

Skynet Miracles bagged the prestigious Fair Play Award; the trophy was collected by Skynet President Cajie Fernandes.

Albin Joseph (Skynet Miracles) bagged the Top Scorer of the Season Award. He was presented with a trophy and a gold gift by V.K. Vohra.

Pradeep Varghese won the Man of the Match.

The prizes were given away at the hands of KIFF President Derick Gomindes, Guest of Honor Nasser Al Kanaan, Abdul Rehman Al Muraiki, V.K. Vohra, Fidelis Fernandes, Tony Alphonso, Carmo Santos, Robert Bernard, etc.

Gasper Crasto compered the evening and the prize distribution ceremony.

KIFF Vice-President Robert Bernard proposed a vote of thanks.

DJ Cheslee provided the sound and music. The moments were captured on camera by Kuwait's well-known photographer Rivon Gomes of

Goa Caterers (Bernard) provided catering services.

The league was played on a round-robin divided into 2 groups. Top 4 teams in each group played the knockout phase.

Teams participating for the league included All Kerala Football Club (AKFC), AVC Sports & Cultural Association, Don Bosco Oratory, FC Sparx, GOA Maroons, Goa FC, Indian Strikers, Pen Friends United, Santos United, Skynet Miracles SC, Soccer Kerala and United Goans Centre.

KIFF managing committee for the season consists of: Derick Gomindes (GOA Maroons) – President, Robert Bernard (Indian Strikers) – Vice-President, Michael Pereira (Goa FC) – Sports Secretary, Ziddik Sharaf (Pen Friends United) – Treasurer, Majeed P.A. (Soccer Kerala) – Asst Sports Secretary, Fouad (All Kerala FC) – Reliever, Clarence Pires (Don Bosco Oratory) – P.R.O, A. Sameer (FC Sparx) – Registrar, etc.


Kuwait - Skynet Miracles FC crowned KIFF League champions

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month