US bans travel from 5 African nations due to new COVID strai...| MENAFN.COM

Wednesday, 26 January 2022 11:22 GMT

US bans travel from 5 African nations due to new COVID strain

(MENAFN) According to an announcement issued by the White House on Friday, Joe Biden president of the US imposed air travel constraints from South Africa along with seven other nations amidst the new coronavirus strain. In addition to South Africa, the ban involves Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique as well as Malawi to start being applied as of Monday.

Biden declared that the consraints are "a precautionary measure" and urged unvaccinated American adults and kinds to take their vaccinations and vaccinated people to get their booster jab.

The president stated that the new strain demonstrates that the COVID pandemic "will not end until we have global vaccinations."

He urged all countries to meet the upcoming week for the World Trade Organization ministerial conference to discuss the US difficulty to waive intellectual property protections for COVID inoculations, so they can be produced internationally.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.