Thursday, 27 June 2019 11:06 GMT

Online registration mandatory for Indian workers travelling to 18 countries including Oman

(MENAFN - Muscat Daily) Muscat- The Indian government has made online registration mandatory for all Indians going for employment to 18 notified countries, including Oman, from January 1, 2019.

Those who fail to register and receive confirmation by SMS/email will not be allowed to board their flights according to the new law.

Registration is mandatory for Indians going for jobs in Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Thailand, the UAE and Yemen.

An advisory issued by India's Ministry of External Affairs stated that registration must be completed on the eMigrate portal ( ) between 21 days and 24 hours prior to the date of travel. On successful completion of registration, the applicant will receive a confirmatory SMS/email.

'Starting January 1, 2019 no Indian emigrant holding non-ECR (Emigration clearance not required) passport, would be allowed to go to these 18 countries for employment, without prior registration in eMigrate, as a measure extending protection and ensuring their welfare overseas,' stated the advisory.

It said that off-loading of unregistered non-ECR emigrants at the airports would be ensured by the appropriate authority after January 1.

For all other visa categories, there is no change in existing procedure.

Details to be furnished include personal, visa and travel details, emergency contact details in India and the destination country and contact details of foreign employer/sponsor in the destination country.

The notification added that in case of any clarifications, emigrants may contact Pravasi Bharatiya Sahayata Kendra (PBSK) in India on 1800113090 or +911140503090 or by emailing

Muscat Daily was unable to confirm at the time of going to the press whether the new rule will apply only to new workers travelling for the first time to the 18 countries or will also include Indians who are already working in these countries and may have travelled to India for a holiday or on emergency leave.


Online registration mandatory for Indian workers travelling to 18 countries including Oman

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month