Sunday, 22 September 2019 07:52 GMT

UK, Southern African nations finalize trade deal

(MENAFN) The United Kingdom (UK) finalized a trade deal with South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia, Botswana and Mozambique on bilateral trade cooperation post-Brexit.

South African Minister of Trade and Industry, Ebrahim Patel confirmed that the trade agreement ensures relations even if a no-deal Brexit occurred.

"I am pleased that we have concluded this agreement with the United Kingdom," the trade and industry minister emphasized, following two years of negotiations.

Patel added "we are pleased that regardless the outcomes of these processes, our trading relationship with the United Kingdom can continue without disruption. This is important for the thousands of South African workers whose jobs are dependent on this trade and for the investors who have utilised South Africa as an export base to Britain and the rest of the world."


UK, Southern African nations finalize trade deal

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month