Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 Announces Shortlist of 30 International Filmmakers

(MENAFN- BPG Group) (Dubai,UAE, 23 APRIL 2024) – Creo is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024. The shortlist of 30 film
makers across six categories are awarded the unique experience of attending a week of special events at the Sony Pictures Studios lot in Los Angeles, including a workshop program providing unparalleled access behind-the-scenes of the industry and culminating in the Awards ceremony on 30 May 2024 where the six category winners, chosen by a selection of expert judges, are announced. that have resonated with global audiences over the past year. The winning, finalist and shortlisted images are on view at the Sony World Photography Awards 2024 exhibition at Somerset House, London from 19 April.

Established by Creo and sponsored by Sony, the sophomore edition of the major annual awards program for short film
s provides a gateway for the development of exceptional cinematic talent and sets out to elevate voices with an original perspective on storytelling. This year’s shortlist was chosen from over 8,400 film
s by more than 5,000 film
makers across 148 countries and territories submitted across six categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Environment, Animation, Student, and Future Format.

The shortlisted stories range from a poignant documentary about two Holocaust survivors miraculously reunited after 80 years, a film
maker’s search for the last remaining gibbon in Kuala Lumpur, a homeless ballet dancer undertaking a life-changing audition, a spontaneous romance between two strangers thrown together by grounded flights, and much more. Representing a truly global perspective on film
making, the shortlist includes film
s from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Germany, Ghana, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, South Africa, Thailand, the United Kingdom, Uruguay, and the United States.

Working from a longlist of commended submissions, the 30 shortlisted film
makers were chosen by Emmy-award winning cinematographer Robert Primes ASC and celebrated Australian film
maker Unjoo Moon. At the second stage of the judging process, judges Michael Barker and Tom Bernard, Co-Founders and Co-Presidents of Sony Pictures Classics (Call Me By Your Name, The Father, Whiplash); Rob Hardy ASC, BSC, BAFTA award-winning cinematographer (Mission: Impossible – Fallout, Ex-Machina, Civil War) ; Kate Reid BSC, acclaimed British cinematographer (Game of Thrones, Great Expectations, Silo) will choose this year’s category winners, awarding creative excellence and original approaches to narrative. Both stages of the judging process are chaired by award-winning director Justin Chadwick (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, The Other Boleyn Girl, Tulip Fever).

The 30 shortlisted film
makers will be flown to Los Angeles to attend a comprehensive four-day workshop program at the Sony Pictures Studios lot in Culver City from 28 – 31 May 2024, culminating in a black-tie Awards ceremony on 30 May 2024. Held at the Cary Grant Theatre and hosted by Entertainment Tonight’s Denny Directo, during the ceremony the six category winners will be announced, receiving a range of cash prizes and equipment. This immersive experience provides film
makers with a one-of-a-kind opportunity to connect with fellow film
makers and leaders in the field of cinema, and to gain exclusive access behind-the-scenes of the industry, with workshops led by Sony Pictures executives, and covering a range of topics from keynotes by major cinematographers, screenings and Q&A sessions, to insights into working with talent agencies and using cutting-edge technologies, to film
scoring and music rights.

Justin Chadwick, award-winning theatre, television and film
director and Chair of the Jury, says: “The level of submission and the international scope of new voices shortlisted for the Awards is thrilling. Across the 30 chosen film
makers the perspectives told are manifold and captivating, charged with a passion and authenticity. I am delighted to once again lead this selection of film
making; a vision of storytelling and cinematic ingenuity and an aperture into the film
makers who shall make up the future of our industry.”

Scott Gray, Founder and CEO, Creo, says: "With a staggering 8,400 film
s submitted this year, the calibre of entries received for this second edition of the Sony Future Filmmaker Awards and the shortlist of film
makers selected express the exceptional, global stories set to be showcased at this year’s event. We are grateful to Sony for providing this incredible opportunity for emerging film
makers, and we extend our gratitude to our esteemed panel of judges for their invaluable expertise and insight in selecting the shortlist to join us in Los Angeles this May."


BPG Group

Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.