Monday, 27 May 2019 02:02 GMT

Motto of Eurovision Song Contest 2019 promulgated

(MENAFN - AzerNews) By Narmina Mammadova

The motto of the international song contest "Eurovision-2019", which will be held in May 14-18 in Tel Aviv (Israel), has been announced, Trend Life reports with reference to the official website of the contest.

The motto of the competition - Dare to Dream.

Israel received the right to hold a contest after the singer Netta Barzilai's victory at the Eurovision 2018.

Earlier in June, the Israeli authorities abandoned the idea of ​​holding Eurovision in Jerusalem because of a scandal with the European Broadcasting Union (EMU), which demanded to choose a venue that does not provoke conflicts or protests.

Israel won Eurovision for the fourth time. The country has won victories in 1978, 1979 and 1998.

It was announced that Azerbaijan will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 on September 18.

'We have applied for participation in the international song contest Eurovision-2019. Our application has been accepted, so we confirm our participation in the competition in 2019, which will be held in Tel Aviv,head of the department of music, art and special projects of the Public Television of Azerbaijan (İTV)Leila Guliyeva told Trend Life.

Public Television is the state broadcaster of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Eurovision project was created in 1956 and the first competition was held in the Swiss city of Lugano. Then, only seven European countries — Belgium, Holland, Italy, Luxembourg, France, Germany, Switzerland — took part in the project. The winner of the competition was Swiss Liz Assia with the song "Refrain".

Eurovision contests have become an integral part of the European musical tradition since then.

Traditionally the festival takes place in the capital of the country whose musician has won in the previous year.

Azerbaijan debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2008, after the Azerbaijani television channel ITV joined the European Broadcasting Union (EMU) and received the official right to broadcast the competition.

Azerbaijan marked its debut in this contest in 2008 with the duo of Elnur and Samir, who managed to finish eighth in the final with their song ‘Day after day'.

The brilliant duet of Aysel and Arash represented Azerbaijan next year took the third place at the song contest, while Safura Alizada, who represented Azerbaijan atEurovision 2010 in Oslo took the fifth place.

On its fourth attempt with Ell and Nikki's Running Scared song, the Land of Fire won the event, bringing the contest to Baku's Crystal Hall in 2012.Ell and Nikki were the first mixed-gender duo to win the contest since 1963 and the first winners from Azerbaijan.

Azerbaijan reached the Top 5 in five consecutive contests, and achieved the Top 5 place finishes each once - 3rd in 2009, 5th in 2010, 1st in 2011, 4th in 2012, and runner-up in 2013.

The country managed another two consecutive Top 5 results with Sabina Babayeva finishing fourth with 150 points in 2012 and Farid Mammadov second with 234 in 2013.

In 2017, Diana represented the country with the song "Skeletons" finishing in 14th place. In 2018,Aysel Mammadovabrilliantly performed at Eurovision 2018 Semi-Final 1, however, she couldn't make it to the final. She represented Azerbaijan with the song X My Heart.


Follow us on Twitter @AzerNewsAz

  • MENAFN2910201801950000ID1097635417

    Motto of Eurovision Song Contest 2019 promulgated

      Most popular stories  

    Day | Week | Month