Nidahas Trophy: India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets| MENAFN.COM

Tuesday, 29 November 2022 08:19 GMT

Nidahas Trophy: India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets

(MENAFN- NewsBytes)

Nidahas Trophy: India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets
12 Mar 2018

India's Nidahas Trophy campaign is back on track after the men in blue defeated hosts Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in 4th T2OI of the tri-nation tournament.

Sri Lanka posted a target of 153 runs which Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik watchfully chased down after India had an early collapse.

Here is the complete match report.

India win toss opt to field first
Wise choice

Rain played a spoilsport and the fixture was reduced to 19 overs per side.

Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to put the Sri Lankans to bat first.

India replaced Rishabh Pant for the talented KL Rahul.

Sri Lanka got off to a flying start with Unadkat being pummeled for 15 runs in the opening over of the match.

Kusal Mendis was Sri Lanka's anchor
In-form man

India got their first break through in the third over with Suresh Raina taking a phenomenal catch to dismiss Gunathilaka.

It didn't take long for Washington Sundar to get the better of Kusal Perera, as the youngster left the Sri Lankan batsman red-faced after knocking down his stumps.

However, the experienced Tharanga and the in-form Kusal Mendis steadied the ship for the hosts.

India pulled things back to restrict SL to 152

Mendis and Tharanga almost took the game away from India scoring at 10 runs an over until the 12th over.

India, however, staged a remarkable comeback to dismiss Tharanga, Mendis and the big-hitting Sri Lankan captain Thisara Perera.

The hosts lost six wickets in the last eight overs.

Shardul Thakur almost claimed a hat-trick as the Lankans finished at 152/9.

Sundar's love affair with Kusal and Mendis

Washington Sundar has claimed 5 wickets in his 4 T20Is and has dismissed Kusal Perera thrice. His other two wickets have been Kusal Mendis and Jeevan Mendis.

Pandey and Karthik secure India's victory
Experience matters

Sri Lanka put India on the back-foot early after dismissing Rohit Sharma and in-form Dhawan.

Rahul and Raina stitched a 40-run partnership for 3rd wicket. However, they both fell in a span of 18 balls.

Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik were left with the responsibility of taking India to the finish line.

Their experience came into play and the duo calmly sealed the victory.

KL Rahul gets unlucky with rare dismissal

KL Rahul became the first Indian to be dismissed hit wicket in T20Is. Rahul joins 9 others to have been dismissed in such a fashion.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.