Tuesday, 17 September 2019 09:13 GMT

#Verdict2019: In a first, India elects 78 women MPs

(MENAFN - NewsBytes)
#Verdict2019: In a first, India elects 78 women MPs
25 May 2019

Elections 2019 were unique in more ways than one: the country rejected the dynasty politics once and for all, rich candidates lost their deposits like never before and Indians chose a record 78 women MPs this time.

Yes, the 17th Lok Sabha will have the highest women representation.

Notably, 724 women candidates tested their fate in general elections this time.

Here are the details.

Bengal and UP are sending maximum women to LS

Out of the 78 women MPS, 11 each belong to West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh. Congress had fielded the highest number of women candidates- 54, while BJP came second by giving tickets to 53 women.

In 16th Lok Sabha, the strength of women candidates was 64, while 52 women were elected in 15th Lok Sabha.

27 women MPs retained their seats.

222 women contested polls independently

Meanwhile, 222 women contested polls as independent candidates. Four transgender independent candidates tested their fate in polls this time. AAP became the only party to give a ticket to a transgender candidate.

However, all transgenders lost elections.

A record 104 women candidates fought from UP. 64 women contested from Tamil Nadu, 55 from Bihar and 54 from West Bengal.

'Giant killer' Smriti's entry in Lok Sabha will be watched
Known faces

Undoubtedly, the most prominent woman who will walk the corridors of Lok Sabha is Smriti Irani.

The BJP leader scripted history by defeating Congress President Rahul Gandhi from his home turf Amethi. Smriti won by a margin of 55,000 votes.

Since Rahul contested and won from Wayanad, he got a ticket to Lok Sabha. Else, he might have been forced to sit it out.

Big names include Kirron Kher, Sonia Gandhi, and Kanimozhi

Other women who will enter Lok Sabha are BJP's Kirron Kher (who won from Chandigarh), Raebareli's MP Sonia Gandhi, DMK's Kanimozhi, and SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal. Trinamool's Locket Chatterjee, who won from Hooghly, NCP's Supriya Sule and BJP's Rita Bahuguna will also be seen.

Three women won from Northeast this time

Northeastern states have also scripted history. Out of the 25 Lok Sabha seats, three were won by women. Last time, this count was two.

The women who will represent the Northeast in Parliament are BJP's Queen Oja (who won from Guwahati) and Pratima Bhowmik (who won from Tripura West).

The third woman MP is National People's Party's Agatha Sangma, who won from Tura.


#Verdict2019: In a first, India elects 78 women MPs

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month