Rajya Sabha: Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar Administers Oath To Sonia Gandhi, Ashwini Vaishnaw, 12 Others

(MENAFN- Live Mint) "Vice President of India and Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Jagdeep Dhankhar, on Thursday, administered oath to fourteen elected members of the Rajya Sabha in Parliament House. Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Railway minister Ashwini Vaishnaw were among the 14 who took oath as members of the Rajya Sabha on Thursday on Thursday Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge had posted a congratulatory message for Sonia Gandhi. The former Congress president has opted for a seat in Rajya Sabha, giving up contesting the Lok Sabha elections 2024 leader Sonia Gandhi took oath as a member of the Upper House from Rajasthan, left vacant by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's retirement. Meanwhile, Ashwini Vaishnaw was sworn in as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Odisha leaders Ajay Maken, and Syed Naseer Hussain from Karnataka, BJP leader R P N Singh from Uttar Pradesh, and BJP member Samik Bhattacharya from West Bengal were among the 14 who took the Rajya Sabha oath Kumar Jha of JD(U) also took oath as a member from Bihar, Subhashish Khuntia and Debashish Samantaray, both of BJD took oath as members from Odisha, while Madan Rathore of BJP took oath as RS member representing Rajasthan leaders Golla Baburao, Meda Raghunadha Reddy, and Yerram Venkata Subba Reddy, and BRS leader Ravi Chandra Vaddiraju from Telangana also took oath as members representing the state of Andhra Pradesh all later took a group photograph with the Rajya Sabha Chairman Rajya Sabha secretariat said that the terms of the members from Odisha and Rajasthan started from Thursday. All others started their term from Wednesday Gandhi has become a Rajya Sabha member for the first time. She took oath in the presence of Leader of the House Piyush Goyal and Congress president and Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge daughter Priyanka Gandhi Vadra was also present during her oath-taking Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh and secretary general P C Mody were also present.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.