Iranian Parliament Re-Elects Its Speaker

(MENAFN- Trend News Agency) BAKU, Azerbaijan, May 28. Mohammad BagherGhalibaf has been re-elected as speaker of the Iranian parliamentfollowing today's election, Trend reports.

Out of the 287 members of the parliament in the election, 198voted for Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, 60 for Mojtaba Zonnour, andfive for Manouchehr Mottaki. The votes of 24 MPs were recognized asinvalid.

Ghalibaf will hold the position in the Iranian parliament foranother year.

To note, the 11th parliamentary election in Iran was held onFebruary 21. Over 7,100 candidates competed for 290 seats in theelection.


Trend News Agency

Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.