Wednesday, 18 September 2019 01:28 GMT

5 Turkish MPs labelled "traitors" after Armenian-genocide vote

(MENAFN) Five members of the Dutch parliament have been accused of 'betrayal' after they voted to recognize the Armenian genocide of 1915, DutchNews reported.

The five MPs -Dilan Yesilguz of the VVD party, Socialist MPs Cem Lacin and Saadet Karabulut and GreenLeft members Zinhi Ozdil en Nevin Ozutok- are all of Turkish origins.

They were subjected to a wave of criticism on social media after the newspaper, which is pro-Turkish government, branded them "traitors to the mother country" and labeled the vote "scandalous".

Parliamentary chairwoman Khadija Arib denounced the newspaper's intervention. "Threats or inciting threats in response to people expressing their opinion is unacceptable," she told Nieuwsuur.

"This has no place in a democracy and in a free and open society such as ours." Tunahan Kuzu, for the Denk party, told Turkish television that the vote was "a stunt to win support in the run-up towards the municipal elections".

Kuzu, whose party is popular with the Netherlands' Turkish minority, added that "recognising something like this is unacceptable to us, and Turkish Dutch candidates need to make clear where they stand."


5 Turkish MPs labelled "traitors" after Armenian-genocide vote

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month