Erdogan declares beginning of state of emergency in 10 earth...| MENAFN.COM

Sunday, 02 April 2023 03:40 GMT

Erdogan declares beginning of state of emergency in 10 earthquake-affected regions

(MENAFN) Later on Thursday, the nation's president announced that a three-month state of emergency will go into effect to expedite rescue and humanitarian operations in the earthquake-stricken districts of Turkey.

While observing the search and rescue operations in the southern Gaziantep province, where the fatal earthquakes struck, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said, "The state of emergency will be in force following today's decision in parliament.

Located in the Kahramanmaras province, two earthquakes struck southern Turkey on Monday, affecting more than 13 million people in ten provinces, including Adana, Adiyaman, Diyarbakir, Gaziantep, Hatay, Kilis, Malatya, Osmaniye, and Sanliurfa. According to Erdogan, at least 14,014 people were killed and 63,794 others were injured.

Turkey on Tuesday declared a three-month state of emergency in the earthquake-affected provinces to hasten search and rescue efforts.

"Our state has been in the field with all its institutions starting from the moment of the earthquakes," he added.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.