Meps Reject Passports Issued By Russia In Occupied Territori...| MENAFN.COM

Wednesday, 30 November 2022 09:42 GMT

Meps Reject Passports Issued By Russia In Occupied Territories

(MENAFN- Kuwait News Agency (KUNA)) BRUSSELS, Nov 24 (KUNA) -- The European Parliament on Thursday endorsed a decision not to accept passports and other travel documents issued by Russia in illegally occupied regions of Ukraine and Georgia.
The new legislation was approved with 531 votes in favour, seven against and 34 abstentions.
Russia has been issuing passports to residents of Crimea since the illegal annexation of the peninsula in 2014, and is currently doing so in other non-government-controlled areas of Ukraine.
The non-acceptance of these Russian passports would apply when someone requests a visa to enter the EU or when they cross the EU's external borders.
Last week, the Parliament and Council of the European Union reached an agreement on a draft law creating harmonised rules for not accepting such documents.
The new legislation aims to ensure that travel documents from these areas are treated consistently in different EU member states.
However, MEPs stress that it will not impact anyone's right to seek international protection if they are fleeing the conflict in Ukraine.
Once the legislation is officially adopted by the Council and published in the Official Journal of the EU, it will enter into force on the day after its publication. (end)


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.