Mps Fail To Reach Consensus On Deputy Speaker Post| MENAFN.COM

Saturday, 02 July 2022 08:00 GMT

Mps Fail To Reach Consensus On Deputy Speaker Post

(MENAFN- Colombo Gazette)

Parliament MPs today failed to reach a consensus on the post of Deputy Speaker after two names were proposed, forcing Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena to call for a vote.

The Opposition Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) had proposed MP Rohini Kavirathna for the post while the Government proposed Ajith Rajapaksa.

Some ruling party MPs and the independent group, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) urged the SJB and the Government to reach a consensus and propose one name.

However, both sides failed to reach a consensus.

A heated exchange took place between the Opposition, Government and the Speaker.

The Speaker later informed the House that if there is no consensus then he has no choice but to go for a vote.

A vote was later taken to elect a new Deputy Speaker.

Several MPs decided to spoil their vote as a mark of protest over the failure to reach a consensus on the Deputy Speaker. (Colombo Gazette)


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.