Full list of nominees for 2021 ATP player awards: Andy Murra...| MENAFN.COM

Sunday, 16 January 2022 06:47 GMT

Full list of nominees for 2021 ATP player awards: Andy Murray nominated for WTA 'Best Comeback' award

(MENAFN- BreezyScroll)

The 2021 men's tennis season has come to an end, so the WTA has announced the Nominees for the annual WTA Player Awards . Let's look at each category in detail:

Casper Ruud has been nominated for the Most Improved Player of the Year Award and the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award, whilst father and coach Christian Ruud has been nominated for Coach of the Year by fellow coaches. Felix Auger-Aliassime, Rafael Nadal, and Frances Tiafoe have been shortlisted alongside Ruud for Sportsmanship.

Carlos Alcaraz, Aslan Karatsev, Cameron Norrie, and Casper Ruud have all been nominated for the Most Improved Player of the Year Award. Murray, who won the comeback player of the year award in 2019 and is once again nominated for the same. However, there is some tough competition for him this time, with Jack Sock, McDonald, and Thanasi Kokkinakis.

Jenson Brooksby is the hot favorite to win the newcomer of the year award. The 21-year-old reached the fourth round of a Grand Slam for the first time in his career at the US Open. He also advanced to the final of the Hall of Fame Open.

Gilles Cervara won the coach of the year award in 2019, is now again a strong contender to take the trophy home. He led Daniil Medvedev to his maiden Grand Slam title at the US Open. The winners of the ATP Awards, including Fans' Favorite, will be revealed later this month. Fans can vote for their favorite singles player and doubles team until Tuesday, December 7th.

2021 Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship award of the year

Rafael Nadal
Frances Tiafoe
Casper Ruud
Felix Auger-Aliassime

2021 Comeback player of the year

Andy Murray
Jack Sock
Mackenzie McDonald
Thanasi Kokkinakis

2021 WTA Newcomer of the year

Brandon Nakashima
Sebastian Baez
Jenson Brooksby
Hugo Gaston
Juan Manuel Cerundolo

2021 WTA Most improved player award

Carlos Alcaraz
Cameron Norrie
Aslan Karatsev
Casper Ruud

2021 WTA coach of the year

Gilles Cervara (Medvedev)
Christian Ruud (Ruud)
Juan Carlos Ferrero (Alcaraz)
Facundo Lugones (Norrie)
Craig Boynton (Hurkacz)

2021 ATP player awards Andy Murray


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.