World Health Organization calls new variant “Omicron” | MENAFN.COM

Thursday, 20 January 2022 11:15 GMT

World Health Organization calls new variant “Omicron”

(MENAFN) On Friday, Nov. 26 Tukey applied a prohibition on travelling from five nations in Africa following reports of a new Coronavirus variant spread.

Fahrettin Koca Health Minister wrote on Twitter, “Travel from Botswana, Republic of South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe to our country through all our land, air, sea, and rail border crossings will not be allowed as of tonight.”

The World Health Organization (WHO) has announced the fresh covid-19 variant coming from Africa to be a “variant of concern,” as the organization called it Omicron.

Moreover, Britain has blocked trips from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, while members of the European Union have made an agreement to bring multiple limitations on all flights from the mentioned nations in addition to Mozambique.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.