Because of new Omicron variant, Turkey prohibits travel from...| MENAFN.COM

Tuesday, 18 January 2022 11:06 GMT

Because of new Omicron variant, Turkey prohibits travel from 5 African nations

(MENAFN) Turkey forced a prohibition on travel from five African nations due to the new coronavirus variant.

Health Minister Fahrettin Koca tweeted “Travel from Botswana, Republic of South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe to our country through all our land, air, sea, and rail border crossings will not be allowed as of tonight.”

The World Health Organization stated the new coronavirus strain from southern Africa a “variant of concern,” and called it Omicron.

The UK as well postponed flights from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, while EU member states confirmed to announce fast measures on travelling from these nations in addition to Mozambique.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.