Saturday, 18 September 2021 10:03 GMT

Arab countries already won six medals at Olympics


( MENAFN - Brazil-Arab News Agency (ANBA))

São Paulo – The Arab countries have already won six medals at the Tokyo Olympics between Tunisia, Jordan, Egypt, and Kuwait. Tunisia is the Arab country with the best position in the medals table, in 12th place with one gold and one silver. In swimming, Tunisian Ahmed Hafnaoui (pictured above) earned gold in men's 400 m freestyle. Silver went to Mohamed Khalil Jendoubi in men's taekwondo (-58kg).

Jordan is in 33rd place, with a silver medal won by Saleh Elsharabaty in men's taekwondo (-80kg). In 42nd is Egypt, with two bronzes. Seif Eissa earned a medal in men’s taekwondo (-80kg) and Hedaya Malak, in women’s taekwondo (-67kg).

With a bronze medal, Kuwait is in 46th place on the table. Men's skeet shooting athlete Abdullah Alrashidi clinched a third place on the podium.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympics started on July 23 and will end on August 8, 2021.

Arab countries schedule

The competitions continue, and the Arabs still can take home a few more medals. At 10:00 pm BRT this Monday (26) (01:00 am UTC on Tuesday, 27), Egyptian Dina Meshref faces Dutch Britt Eerland in women's table tennis. In the same sport for men, Egyptian Omar Assar and Swede Mattias Falck face off at 03:30 am BRT (06:30 am UTC) on July 27.

On the same day, at 11:20 pm BRT (02:20 am UTC on Wednesday, 28), Egyptian Doha Hany faces Turkish Neslihan Yigit in women's badminton singles. At 11:48 pm BRT (02:48 am UTC on Wednesday, 28), Jordanian Zeyad Eishaih Hussein Eashash fights Mauritian Merven Clair in men's boxing. Soon after, Algerian boxer Abdelhafid Benchabla faces Russian Muslim Gadzhimagomedov. Two Moroccan athletes and a Jordanian will also compete in men's boxing during the dawn of July 28.

In men's judo, Egyptian Mohamed Abdelaal faces Hungarian Attila Ungvari at 11:00 pm BRT on July 27 (02:00 am UTC on Wednesday, 28). Later, Palestinian Wesam Abu Rmilah meets German Dominic Ressel, and Lebanese Nacif Elias fights South Korean Sungho Lee in the same sport.

During the dawn this Tuesday (27), Egyptian Youssof Tolba competes in men's archery at 00:00 am BRT (03:00 am UTC), and Tunisian Rihab Elwalid plays in the same sport for women at 3:15 am BRT (6:15 am UTC). Egyptian Doha Hany competes again in women's badminton, now in doubles alongside Hadia Hosny, at 6:40 am BRT (9:40 am UTC) against a Canadian team.

Brazil and Morocco will play in men's beach volleyball at 03:00 am BRT (6:00 am UTC). Brazilian duo Evandro and Bruno Schmidt face Moroccans Abicha and Elgraoui.

See the full schedule of sports and more information on the official website of the Olympics .

Read also: Brazil faces Arab countries at Tokyo Olympics

Translated by Elúsio Brasileiro

The post Arab countries already won six medals at Olympics appeared first on Agência de Notícias Brasil-Árabe .

MENAFN26072021000213011057ID1102516469


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.