Wednesday, 21 August 2019 01:16 GMT
img

Umpiring errors cost Kiwis the World Cup




(MENAFN - Khaleej Times) Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel claimed that England were mistakenly awarded an extra run during their dramatic ICC Cricket World Cup final win over New Zealand at Lord's.

Taufel, a member of the sport's chief rules committee, told media on Monday that match officials in the final made a big mistake. A freak fielding deflection off Ben Stokes' bat that raced to the boundary saw the team awarded six runs with three balls to go in the final over on Sunday.

Scores were tied at the end of regular play and the resulting Super Over shootout, with England then handed their first-ever World Cup victory for their superior boundary count.

But Taufel told Fox Sports Australia that umpires had made a "clear mistake", as the batsmen had not crossed for their second run. "They should have been awarded five runs, not six," he said, adding that England's Adil Rashid should have faced the second-last ball instead of Stokes as a result.


MENAFN1607201900490000ID1098763194


Umpiring errors cost Kiwis the World Cup

Authors_Square_PromoteArticle_Ink2019

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month