Sunday, 21 July 2019 04:32 GMT
img

Facebook is now streaming every episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Firefly




(MENAFN - iCrowdNewsWire) iCrowdNewswire - Dec 1, 2018

Facebook's video-on-demand service Facebook Watch is getting a trio of familiar classics:Buffy the Vampire Slayer,Angel, andFirefly. The social network is teaming up with 20th Century Fox to bring every episode of the shows to Facebook starting today.

The shows aren't exclusive to Facebook — you can purchase episodes from a variety of places, and the episodes can be streamed on Hulu — but earlier this week,Facebook rolled out its Watch Party feature to everyone, so groups of people can watch something at the same time.

Facebook wants to replicate those times you watch TV with your friends

Facebook's head of video Fidji Simo says in a blog post that she thinks a fan-favorite show likeBuffyorFireflywill be a good way for 'avid fan communities to experience them in new ways, as well as a good way for newcomers to check them out for the first time, describing the experience like meeting up with friends when the episodes first aired on TV.

The company will hold watch parties for each of the shows:

  • Buffywatch party today, November 30th, at 3PM PT / 6PM ET
  • Angelwatch party on Saturday, December 1st, at 12PM PT / 3PM ET
  • Fireflywatch party on Sunday, December 2nd, at 12PM PT / 3PM ET

Bringing in fan-favorite shows also seems like a good way for the company to lead more fans to the service. Facebook has already been hard at work putting together its own original content, such as areboot of MTV'sThe Real World, ashow starringAvengers: Infinityactress Elizabeth Olsen, and apranking show from Kim Kardashian.

Contact Information:

Andrew Liptak

MENAFN0212201800703403ID1097774244


Facebook is now streaming every episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Firefly

iCrowdNewsWire

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month