Monday, 19 August 2019 09:31 GMT

England Women to host West Indies in 2019

(MENAFN - Caribbean News Now) LONDON, England — ICC Women's World T20 finalists England will host West Indies and Australia next summer, with six ODIs, six IT20s and one Test.

The Test match will form part of the Women's Ashes which will once again be a multi-format points system.

The West Indies ODIs will count towards the ICC Women's Championship, with qualification for the ICC Women's World Cup 2021 at stake.

Heather Knight's team will visit eight grounds across the country, starting at Leicester and finishing at Bristol with the historic Women's Ashes Test match taking place at Taunton.

The Kia Super League will follow the Women's Ashes, with Finals Day once again taking place at Hove.

Clare Connor, director of England Women's Cricket, said: 'We are thrilled to host two world class women's teams on our shores in the summer of 2019.

'As we have just seen in front of record crowds at the ICC Women's World T20 in West Indies, both West Indies and Australia will be sure to provide a great challenge for us as well as skillful, entertaining cricket for the growing fan-base for the women's game.

'Every Ashes summer is a privilege for us all to be part of and we're looking forward to collaborating with all our venues to ensure we deliver high quality match-day experiences throughout the summer of 2019.'


Thursday June 6
*First ODI v West Indies. Fischer County Ground, Leicester

Sunday June 9
*Second ODI v West Indies. Blackfinch New Road, Worcester

Thursday June 13
*Third ODI v West Indies. Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford

Tuesday June 18
First IT20 v West Indies. The County Ground, Northampton

Friday June 21
Second IT20 v West Indies. The County Ground, Northampton

Tuesday June 25
Third IT20 v West Indies. County Ground, Derby

(Note: * denotes ODI counts towards ICC Women's Championship)


England Women to host West Indies in 2019

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month