UAE cruise past Qatar in final of ICC's World T20 Region Qua...| MENAFN.COM

Friday, 30 September 2022 03:52 GMT

UAE cruise past Qatar in final of ICC's World T20 Region Qualifier

(MENAFN- Khaleej Times) Mohammad Naveed and Zahoor Khan bagged three wickets each and Ghulam Shabber slammed an unbeaten 63 as UAE thumped Qatar by nine wickets in the final of the ICC's World T20 Asia Region Qualifier in Kuwait City on Friday.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Qatar were bundled out for a paltry 115. Amir hayat and Naveed struck to remove both Qatar opener. Kamran Khan (29) and Tamoor Sajjad (36) managed a partnership but it was not good enough as the UAE bowlers were spot on.

GBW Munaweera held one end with a stubborn 31 but Naveed (3-22), Zahoor Khan (3-16) and a wicket each from Amir Hayat, Rohan Mustafa and Imran Haider ensured UAE did not have to chase a big total.

Ashfaq Ahmed and Ghulam Shabber then gave the UAE a brisk start. Ashfaq struck a six and three fours during his 19-ball stay at the wicket for his 26.

Shabber continued to pulverise the Qatar bowlers by hammering 63 from 46 balls which included a six and eight fours.

Giving him company past the winning tape was Rohan Mustafa with an unbeaten run-a-ball 30.

In their Group A matches, the UAE trounced Qatar by six wickets. They then went on to beat Saudi Arabia by seven wickets, routed Bahrain by 51 runs, thumped Maldives by 43 runs, and finished their league matches by outplaying hosts Kuwait by 86 runs.

The ICC is conducting 12 regional qualifiers with 62 teams competing across five regions. There are three groups in Africa, two in the Americas, two in Asia, two in the East Asia Pacific and three in Europe.

The top 25 teams from these groups will compete in the five regional finals in 2019 and eight teams will then go on to tussle in the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, along with the six lowest ranked sides from the ICC T20I Championship.

The Eastern sub Region qualifier will be held in Malaysia in October with Nepal, Singapore, Bhutan, China, Myanmar, Thailand and hosts Malaysia taking part. The top three teams from this group will join the three teams from the Western sub region in the Regional Finals. That tournament will see two Asian teams make the cut for the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

The T20 World Cup will be held from October to November 2020 across eight venues - the Adelaide Oval, The Gabba, Manuka Oval, Kardinia Park, Bellerive Oval, the MCG, Perth and the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Brief scores:
Qatar 115 all out in 18.4 overs (Tamoor Sajjad 36, GBW Munaweera 31, Kamran Khan 29; Mohammad Naveed 3-22, Zahoor Khan 3-16) UAE 121 for 1 in 15.5 overs (Ghulam Shabber 63 n.o., Rohan Mustafa 30 n.o., Ashfaq Ahmed 26).


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.